Privacy

The privacy of your data — and it is your data, not ours! — is a big deal to us.

Identity & access

When you sign up for Hireist, whether as a candidate or an employer ("Customer"), we ask for your name, company name, and other contact details. That's just so you can personalize your new account, and we can send you invoices, updates, or other essential information. We’ll never sell your personal info to third parties, and we won’t use your name or company in marketing statements without your permission, either. If you're a candidate applying for a position with a Customer, all data you upload will be shared with that Customer, and subject to their data processing policies.

When you write Hireist with a question or to ask for help, we'll keep that correspondence, and the email address, for future reference. When you browse our marketing pages, we'll track that for statistical purposes (like conversion rates and to test new designs). We also store any information you volunteer, like surveys, for as long as it makes sense.

The only times we’ll ever share your info:

Your Rights With Respect to Your Information

You may have heard about the General Data Protection Regulation (“GDPR”) in Europe. GDPR gives people under its protection certain rights with respect to their personal information collected by us on the Site. Accordingly, Hireist recognizes and will comply with GDPR and those rights, except as limited by applicable law. The rights under GDPR include:

Many of these rights can be exercised by signing in and directly updating your account information. If you have questions about exercising these rights or need assistance, please contact us at hello@hireist.com.

Processors we use

As part of the services we provide, and only to the extent necessary, we may use certain third party processors to process some or all of your personal information. We have signed appropriate data processing contracts that comply with GDPR with each processor.

Law enforcement

Hireist won’t hand your data over to law enforcement unless a court order says we have to.

Security & Encryption

All data is encrypted when transmitted from our servers to your browser. The database backups are also encrypted. Data isn’t encrypted while it's live in our database (since it needs to be ready to send to you when you need it), but we go to great lengths to secure your data at rest.

Deleted data

When you cancel your account, we'll ensure that nothing is stored on our servers past 30 days. Anything you delete on your account while it's active will also be purged within 30 days (up until then it's available in the trash can).

Location of Site and Data

This Site is operated in the European Union.

Changes & questions

Hireist may update this policy once in a blue moon — we’ll notify you about significant changes by emailing the account owner or by placing a prominent notice on our site. You can access, change or delete your personal information at any time by contacting us.

Questions about this privacy policy? Please get in touch and we’ll be happy to answer them!